Welcome to the CompuS homepage

Computational Physics is a fundamental and independent method as experimental and theoretical physics. A necessary prerequisite for successful work in this discipline is a close contact with experiment as well as with theory. In addition, the capability is needed to extract in a hierarchical approach simplified models from complex numerical models. Diagnostics of the complex numerical simulations allow to extract simpler models and to identify the basic principles of a specific problem for a better understanding.

The projects in Computational Science use the experience for the development of complex numerical models in physics for other disciplines. One direction of work is the continuation of projects connected with plasma physics, also within the Transregio 24. Other projects allow collaborations with chemistry (molecular dynamics, quantum chemistry), medicine (data evaluation and management), meteorology (climate modeling), economy (statistical models), biology (population dynamic) and with other physics directions (e.g. to use particle methods for modeling of low temperature plasmas for astrophysics).

The goal is the creation of a group, which has close contact to different disciplines in the university realizing joint projects in Computational Science and tries to offer opportunities and education in this field for students.

Contact

Prof. Dr. Ralf Schneider
AG Computational Sciences
Universitätsrechenzentrum, Ernst Moritz Arndt Universität

Felix-Hausdorff-Straße 12
17489 Greifswald

Germany

phone +49 3834 420-1400
fax +49 3834 420-1401
schneider(at)uni-greifswald(dot)de

Examples of research fields and potential methods

Willkommen auf der Homepage von CompuS

Computational Physics ist als Methode eine eigenständige Ergänzung von Experimentalphysik und Theoretischer Physik. Voraussetzung für eine erfolgreiche Arbeit muss ein enger Kontakt sowohl mit dem Experiment als auch mit der Theorie sowie die Fähigkeit sein, aus komplexen numerischen Modellen im Sinne eines hierarchischen Ansatzes simplifizierte Modelle abzuleiten, die die Grundlagen des jeweils betrachteten Problems ausgehend von der Detailanalyse der komplexen numerischen Simulation in einfacheren (teilweise analytischen) Modellen herausarbeiten und verständlich machen.

Die Arbeiten im Bereich Computational Science sind so angelegt, dass auf Grund der Kenntnisse zur Erstellung komplexer numerischer Modelle diese auch fachübergreifend anzuwenden sind. Eine Arbeitsrichtung ist dabei die Fortführung plasmaphysikorientierter Arbeiten, auch innerhalb des Transregios 24. Die breiten Kenntnisse der numerischen Methoden erlauben Kontakte z.B. mit Chemikern (Molekulardynamik, Quantenchemie), Medizinern (Datenauswertung und -management), Meteorologen (Klimamodelle), Wirtschaftswissenschaftlern (statistische Modelle), Biologen (Populationsdynamik) und selbstverständlich mit praktisch allen Physikfachrichtungen (so sind z.B. die Teilchen-Methoden zur Beschreibung der Niedertemperaturplasmen einfach abzuwandeln als Modell für astrophysikalische Probleme).

Ziel ist der Aufbau einer Arbeitsgruppe, die engen Kontakt zu den verschiedenen Arbeitsgruppen innerhalb der Universität hat, die Computational Science anwenden oder entwickeln, und die sich bemüht Studenten für dieses Feld zu interessieren und auszubilden.

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Ralf Schneider
AG Computational Sciences
Universitätsrechenzentrum, Ernst Moritz Arndt Universität

Felix-Hausdorff-Straße 12
17489 Greifswald

Telefon +49 3834 420-1400
Telefax +49 3834 420-1401
schneider(at)uni-greifswald(dot)de

Beispielhafte Anwendungsgebiete und mögliche Methoden