Master of Science in Physics: Information and Requirements

The program „Master of Science in Physics“ has a duration of 4 semesters and comprises 120 credit points. In the first two semesters, an advanced lab course and advanced quantum mechanics will be taught in addition to two special physics subjects. The student selects one of these two special subjects, the primary special subject, for additional lectures and lab courses in the work groups. The master thesis will be written in this work group and the pimary subject. The master thesis will take two semesters including planning, preparation and execution. After finishing, the master thesis will presented in a colloquium. The master thesis can be prepared in the groups of the Institute of Physics at the University Greifswald as well as at the Max-Planck-Institut for Plasma Physics, Greifswald branch, or at the Leibniz Institute for Plasma Science and Technology.
Special subjects are:
• Low temperature plasma physics
• Fusion plasma physics
• Nano- and surface physics
• Many-particle-theory and computational physics

Suitable students will be offered the possibility to continue their research with a PhD project. The PhD studies are embedded in the Graduate School HEPP (Helmholtz Graduate School on Plasma Physics).

Student Advisory Service Physics

PD Dr. Franz Xaver Bronold

Felix-Hausdorff-Str. 6
17489 Greifswald

Telefon +49 3834 420-4764

Secreteriat for Students Physics

Jana Freitag

Felix-Hausdorff-Str. 6
17489 Greifswald

Phone +49 3834 86-4711
Fax +49 3834 86-4712

Regulations and Module Handbooks

(only available in German)