Dear Students

The universities in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern can start the winter semester 2021/22 in attendance mode. A corresponding ordinance has been introduced. For attendance mode, compliance with the principle "vaccinated - recovered - tested" is required to ensure protection against infection. Under this condition, it is possible to deviate from compliance with the minimum distance of 1.5 meters in the universities, for example by using the so-called checkerboard pattern. Mouth-to-nose covering will also continue to be mandatory in university buildings. Should there be any major difficulties here that cannot be clarified with the* lecturer, please contact the Dean of Studies, Prof. Dr. Volkmar Liebscher. Further information, which is regularly adapted to the current situation, can be found on the central pages of the university and the individual departments/institutes. If you have any questions about your studies, the relevant subject advisors are also available to help you.

FAQ - Effects of the corona pandemic on studies


No news available.


No news available.


Students can find the best conditions at the Institute of Physics. Small group sizes ensure excellent support during the studies.
The modern building at the science campus offers outstanding conditions for an intensive study - with tight connections to state-of-the-art research.

In addition to traditional Physics courses (Bachelor and Master of Science), the Institute of Physics also provides a program in Environmental Sciences (BSc), an interdisciplinary study of physics and chemistry, ecology, microbiology, geology and mathematics, supplemented by events of laws and economics.

Starting with the winter semester 2020/2021 a program of Teaching of physics for secondary/grammar school and starting with the winter semester 2021/2022 a program for Medical Physics will be offered.


Our research directions institute divisions and research and collaborative research activities:

Associated institutes

Greifswald is a center of plasma physics, with the Leibniz Institute for Plasma Science and Technology (INP Greifswald) and the Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics (IPP), hosting the Wendelstein 7-X stellarator experiment.


Felix-Hausdorff-Str. 6

17489 Greifswald

Telefon +49 3834 420-4700
Telefax +49 3834 420-4701

Executive Director:
Prof. Dr. André Melzer

Secretary: Iris-Diana Passow